Daily Prompt · Random Thoughts

Dear sister,

You’ve been asked to speak at your high school alma mater — about the path of life. (Whoa.) Draft the speech. My sister goes to the same school as I went, she’s in her last year, I finished two years ago. This is me, telling her and her classmates everything they probably won’t listen to.

Two years ago I was sitting exactly where you are now. Nervous about examinations, university and the future in general. Some may deny it, but I know you all are.

I’m only two years older than most of you are, so I haven’t had that much experience beyond high school, but there is one thing that I’ve realised over the last couple of years. Do what you love, not the other way around. Well, of course you should love what you do, don’t get me wrong, but it’s wrong to start there.

When I was in ninth grade and we had to choose our subjects, I decided to go with everything that I loved. Physics, maths, chemistry and biology. As a result I loved what I did, which made school so much better. When I was about sixteen and I needed to get my first job, I decided to go with what I love. Cooking, I got a job at this place where teenagers work in the kitchen as well. As I result I loved my job, most of the time, and this made my job so much more fun. When I needed to choose what I was going to study at university, I went with the subject I loved the most and something I’ve found fascinating all my life. Physics and Astronomy. I’m in my second year now and I have to say I love it.

When you do something and you have to force yourself to love it, your life will be miserable. Sometimes you might think you have to choose something you don’t love, because you think it is better for your future. Don’t. Sure, you need to keep your future in mind, but if you don’t do something you like now, how are you going to in the future? If you study something you don’t love, then how are you going to find a job that you love later in life?

Choose something you love and you’ll want to put a lot more time into it. This then pays off because you get higher marks, or you might even catch a professor’s eye, or a business’ eye even.

In the end, you will have a brighter future when you do choose something you love.

-Anne

Leave a Reply

