Monthly Goals

February Goals

New Years’ resolutions, not my cup of tea. I know myself good enough to know that I will never be able to stick with them, so I just tend to not make them. To push myself I like it better to set goals per month or even per week. Smaller goals that are challenging, but not impossible to stick to. That’s why I’d like to introduce you to my Monthly Goals.

Since this is the first time doing this, I won’t be setting myself a lot or very big goals. These goals are doable, but not extremely easy to accomplish.

1. Check my students work in time. I’ve been assigned to be a teaching assistant for one of the first year courses and from experience, I know how annoying it is when the assistant doesn’t check your work in time. To not be that kind of assistant, I’m setting myself the challenge of checking work in time.

2. Go to bed earlier. I do have quite a busy semester ahead, but sleeping less than six hours a night just won’t cut it. Generally speaking I don’t need a lot of sleep to be productive, but when I keep not getting enough sleep I get grumpy and I start falling asleep in class. The goal is to go to bed before twelve whenever I’m not out till late.

3. Do my exercise classes on my own. One of my friends is super smart and normally when I don’t know how to solve a problem within about fifteen minutes, I ask him for help. This has however caused my average mark for exercise classes to be much higher than the marks I get for exams in general. I want to change this, I want to get a better feeling of what I’m capable of on my own. That way it’s easier for me to study and practice for my exams.

At the end of the month I will give you an update about how it went down. Which goals I’ve accomplished and which ones were harder than I expected.

Are you someone to set yearly goals or do you prefer to set yourself some smaller goals every month? Maybe you’re not a goals person at all?

-Anne

One thought on “February Goals

Leave a Reply

