Daily Prompt · Random Thoughts

The Eighth Sin

The Seven Sins. Every one had heard about them, everyone has experienced all of them some time in their lives – including me. When it’s that time of the month, when I see a boy I like with another girl or when I just don’t want to get out of bed.

But those Seven Sins aren’t all. An Eighth Sin has been creeping in to our lives over the last couple of years. And it’s serious. It’s cutting down productiveness and human interaction. People being guilty of this sin are often unaware of their environment and it has caused a lot of misunderstandings and fights.

I’m talking about Social Media. DUN DUN DUN!

Social media have become massively popular over the last few years. I too find myself on platforms as Facebook and YouTube a lot. Yes, I do count YouTube as social media, because that is what it has developed into.

I’m not that old, but I do remember a time when young kids played outside and climbed into trees instead of playing on their iPads and throwing birds into pigs hiding under wooden planks. I got my first cellphone when I was twelve and I got Whatsapp when I was seventeen, nowadays I see kids that are less than half my age who have cellphones more modern than mine.

Of course it’s easier talking to someone when you can’t see his or her face, especially if it’s someone you like. But talking to each other without hearing their voice, their tone, makes it harder to interpret what they’re saying and what they’re actually meaning. It gets rid of the exciting part about getting to know someone and physically being around that person. I mean, what’s better than being around people you like?!

Point is, Social Media have had a huge impact on the world. Not always positive. And yes, like the original Seven, everyone experiences the Eighth. But like the first Seven, this one should be kept under control. It’s not bad to be on Facebook or Twitter, nowadays it just shows you’re human, just like being jealous or being lazy. But it’s good to go out and explore the world every now and then, just like it’s good to let go of you jealousy or actually being productive.

Today’s post was inspired by the daily prompt of The Daily Post.

2 thoughts on “The Eighth Sin

Leave a Reply

